Play Arts Kai – Sephiroth AC ver.

Hello again!

Hope you and your collections are fine 🙂

Today I’ll review another Play Arts Kai figure I own. After getting the AC Cloud I didn’t even think twice and PO’d Sephiroth. The promo pics made a great impression on me and I was extremely excited to finally get him! Earlier I also got PAK Noctis (FF XV), but its quality wasn’t very good. Still not so bad to stop me from getting Sephiroth. And he was totally worth it!

The box is really big, much bigger than Clouds. Its conception is pretty much the same. The only change is that the front part closes with magnets not with burr. It’s much better imo.

IMG_5211IMG_5212IMG_5213Sephiroth is 28,5cm tall. What I like about PAKs is that they don’t really need the stand for most poses. With Sephiroth you’ll usually need it though. Let’s take a look at the figure!

IMG_5215IMG_5223

There aren’t many paint transfers and generally the quality is really high. The joints are easy to move and let you pose the figure in various ways. The hair is made of soft and elastic material.
Sephiroth comes with the most recognisable accessories from the movie: a huge wing and a huge katana. There are some additional hands too.

IMG_5230

It took me a while to put on the wing. You have to move the joints a lot to get the right pose. Otherwise it’ll just get detached. I wasn’t sure either how to put it on his back too. Square Enix thought up a nice solution here. One element on the back is removable.

IMG_5231 The sword is also easy to put in his hand. Posing Sephiroth is really fun!
With the wing on the figure takes a lot of space so prepare your room for him 🙂

IMG_5233

IMG_5241IMG_5248IMG_5250IMG_5256IMG_5260IMG_5264

Unfortunately I couldn’t pose him the way I really wanted to and that’s the one:

MasterSora1470757373

The figure is just too heavy, especially with the wing. But Sephiroth is just too badass to worry. He’s really well made, the quality is great overall. He looks amazing next to my two Clouds (yeah I also bought the remake ver. ;)) Many people complain about SE quality. Well I’m not surprised. It’s just a pure luck I guess. Some of their figures are great like this one, some are average (like Noctis or Static Arts Vincent) and some are terrible (gladly I don’t own any of such quality). Usually it’s better to wait for users photos, but you never know if the figure will go up in price after the release or not. Well I suppose I still would risk it with the PAK series. In the end I wasn’t completely unhappy with any of SE figures. Well the Static Arts Vincent isn’t a complete disaster like many claim, but it’s far from high quality. Definetely not worth the price I paid for it…Well my mistake I guess.

All in all Sephiroth is really amazing and getting him won’t be a mistake for sure. Hope this review will help you make the right decision.

Greets!

Leave a Reply

