Beach Queens – Haruna by Wave

Hi everyone!

Some time ago I started to read a manga called Aoki Hagane no Arpeggio and I got wrapped up in it. And about a year later an anime was announced. I was really excited and happy for two reasons: a great manga is getting an anime and there’s hope for figures from this series! In the end I didn’t like the anime so much. Why I didn’t like it? The plot was so much different from the manga. I don’t like how the temper of many characters got changed either.  But thanks to it new figures get announced quite often and so the only thing I can be unhappy about is the lack of money (and unfortunately space).

The character I like the most is Haruna. That’s why I wanted to get a figure of her first. And I did. I bought Wave’s version from their Beach Queens line. The truth is I don’t like the idea and I think these figures are mostly overpriced for their size and quality. Lately Wave likes to use polystone, which is very expensive, fragile and awfully looking. I wonder why it’s been so popular lately…

Anyways, I looked through Wave’s figures on myfigurecollection and I wasn’t very convinced of the manufacturer’s quality. That’s why when I saw Haruna and Takao going for pre-orders I decided to wait until they’re released. Users pictures got my hopes up and I bought Haru-Haru at amiami’s pre-owned section for less than 3k yen.

190609

Some time later I could see Haruna for myself.
The figure is quite small – 16cm. Beach Queens series’ scale is 1/10 so it’s understandable.
The box isn’t very big either. I take it as an advantage actually. A bigger box would increase the shipping cost and we all hate to pay too much for it 😉

The packaging is very simple

IMG_1359IMG_1360IMG_1362IMG_1361

A standard BQ’s sandy base
IMG_1394IMG_1395

Haruna comes with an additional faceplate. It doesn’t suit the BQ design at all.

IMG_1396

IMG_1414

You can move the head and ponytails

IMG_1417IMG_1418

IMG_1408.JPG

IMG_1399

The figure is really well made. Maybe there’s not much shadowing, but there are no visible painting problems. The sculpt is quite nice too. Now I regret not getting Takao, but maybe I’ll buy her one day. I think Haruna is definitely one of nicer positions in the Beach Queens line.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

