The Holy Grail! Holo 1/8

Long time no post!

A very long time actually. I had a lot to do and had no time to write any review, but here comes one!

My personal Holy Grail – Holo by Kotobukiya. When a re-release version was announced I just snatched at it without hesitation ^^

And so my Holo finally arrived!

I think her box is very nice, I like the colours.

IMG_0540 IMG_0541 IMG_0542

IMG_0543

Finally mine! She’s around 20cm high.

IMG_0564

Kotobukiya usually screws the figures to their base so that you cannot remove them, but they didn’t do that with Holo.
The truth is I’d rather had it attached permanently, because unfortunately my figure can’t br attached correctly 😦 I don’t know if that’s a problem with all Holos or just a few and I was just unlucky.

IMG_0551

The base is a brown plastic with something that should imitate grass. It looks nice, not the usual white stuff.
It’s possible to take off her skirt, but she looks weird without it. It seems that the sculpt is not so good underneath 😉 A problem that all Holos have is the skirt itself. You just can’t put it so that it doesn’t move and that the gap between top and bottom isn’t visible. Unfortunately Koto didn’t improve the problems from years ago and just re-released it.

IMG_0544

Some pictures from different angles.

IMG_0554 IMG_0555

IMG_0557

Of course to take off her skirt you also need to remove the tail so it’s detachable, but also a little uncertain, it falls off easily.

IMG_0558 IMG_0559

IMG_0570

And now some details!

IMG_0556

IMG_0549

IMG_0552

IMG_0562 IMG_0563

IMG_0565 IMG_0566

IMG_0568 IMG_0569 IMG_0572

I think the paint job and shading are of a very high quality. There are no paint transfers and it’s really neatly done. Overall the sculpt is also very nice, just don’t take the skirt off, she looks much much better with it on 😀

Since it was a figure I wanted for a long time willing to pay even for an overpriced item I was a little dissatisfied with the skirt and base problems, but the nice price I got it for made my dissatisfaction fade away 😉 I really love this figure and would recommend it to everyone, she’s simple but very charming!

Next review tomorrow!

Cheers!

a

Leave a Reply

